Clear cache on exit setting.

Answered

Comments

6 comments

  • Avatar
    chris
    are you sure you have the right component selected?

    you could well have your mesh and textures but its not the selected one.

    I had this same issue when i first started using it.

    the cache, saves the depth maps that a created by the gpu. these can be reused if you do a another mesh reconstruction.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Wishgranter
    Hi daniels_mail

    AS has Chris pointed out, the CACHE stores FEATURES DETECTED for alignment + DEPTH MAPS + other stuff.
    So if you set DELETE ON EXIT, it clears the cache, so when you align again, all features need to be detected again + depth maps that can be reused for project are lost, too... I highly recommend you to use the manual CLEAR CACHE button every "few days"

    It is highly possible you are using a thumbnail 2Ds view and so it selects another model for the 3D view.
    Change and check the UI here.. all models are there if you saved the file after the finished reconstruction

    Screenshot 2016-02-03 08.28.52.png
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    daniels_mail
    Hey, yeah that might be the cause. I'll have a look at that panel and see what I find, changed the clear cache on exit setting as well, I'll do it manually when needed. I am new to this program so trying to get a grasp of the interface. Thx for your replies.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    ssh4
    Wishgranter wrote:
    AS has Chris pointed out, the CACHE stores FEATURES DETECTED for alignment + DEPTH MAPS + other stuff.
    So if you set DELETE ON EXIT, it clears the cache, so when you align again, all features need to be detected again + depth maps that can be reused for project are lost, too... I highly recommend you to use the manual CLEAR CACHE button every "few days"


    OMG, can you change this "feature" to more common for other software behavior?
    Most of software stored all needed files or zipped archives in project dir, so user can always start from any previous step him want in any time.

    This is a bit weird if use should run all process again if it deleted his TEMPORARY folder.

    One friend of mine used Trash Can as "personal" folder, just store so many files inside it, and never allow empty trash, because often check and use files from trash. :D
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Wishgranter
    Hi Vladlen
    If you look there, we already have this setting for storing the cache data in a PROJECT folder...
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    ssh4
    Oh, this is great. Sorry, false alarm.
    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.